README

Need more useless stuff to read on teh internetz?

Xubuntu: 1 month in

Posted by anjilslaire on December 9, 2008

So I’ve been running Xubuntu Intepid for about a month now. I must say I’m feeling very much at home now. As much as I enjoy all the settings & options in KDE3.5 (still no fan of KDE4, sorry) I’m really getting my groove on in the stripped down environment that is XFCE.

I’m really an application fan anyay, so as long as I have a DE that stays out of my way & lets me run my preferred applications without any unneeded overhead is good in my book. Give me firefox, AmaroK, acidrip, pidgin, k3b, a few choice applets & I’m a happy camper for the most part.

Compiz is running great, much better than in KDE3.5 (yes KDE4 has built-in eye candy, blah blah blah) and the whole system feels more responsive, even running QTE/KDE apps under what appears to essentially be a gnome  framework.

I’m getting my mini 9 for Christmas (there are some things the missus just can’t get for me), and I plan on wiping the Dell Ubuntu image & loading Xubuntu 8.10 with 2 gigs of ram. I haven’t seen any reports yet of XFCE being run on this thing, so I’m excited to try it out and report back.

I’ll post details after New Year’s about the mini, but I’ll likely be back before then rambling about something else, I’m sure.

One Response to “Xubuntu: 1 month in”

  1. [...] Posted by anjilslaire on January 27, 2009 After the release of KDE4-only in Intrepid, I found it unuseable for my tastes, even as 4.1. As a result, I switched to Xubuntu 8.10 on my desktop, with my preferred KDE apps installed in order to feel like home. I’ve never been much fan of gnome, and wanted a pretty lightweight DE to run my KDE apps.  This has all been documented before. [...]

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 29 other followers

