README

Need more useless stuff to read on teh internetz?

Cogs and Devils

Posted by anjilslaire on February 22, 2008

So I’ve picked up Gears of War since last post, and I’ve been thoroughly immersed in it. It’s great: You can duck, cover, swat-turn, and a myriad of other evasive maneuvers with the flick of the control and ONE button press. Amazingly intuitive.

If you’re right-handed.

Sure, you can set the controller scheme up to lefty, but that switches the triggers and thumbsticks. The problem is, that puts movement and the almighty action button A on the same side. Try moving the right thumbstick and mashing A with any sense of dexterity. Doesn’t happen. Makes me stumble around the map like a fingerless, one-armed monkey. Just one more reason to postpone buying a Gold Live account, to prevent publicizing my lameness.

On the other end, I picked up Devil May Cry 4 last night for my better half. She tried the demo and was immediately hooked. You can imagine her disgust when she realized the demo had an artificial time-limit imposed. Its not that the demo includes a small portion of the game to play; no they limit you to 10 measly minutes to spend as you see fit. Pick your nose for 10 minutes without moving, the developers don’t care. Thats all you get.

So, I dutifully shuffled off to the local office of the lowest common denominator to take advantage of the massive think tank they employ to do their dark master’s retail bidding and get as cheap a copy as possible. No, I don’t want your Special Edition, thank you!

Leave a comment