README

Need more useless stuff to read on teh internetz?

Kubuntu 8.04 issues, updated

Posted by anjilslaire on April 25, 2008

OK,
I’ve installed Hardy with KDE3.5.9, for stability purposes. It detects pretty much everything, and my /home partition remains intact, with all my settings, etc.
There is NO Restricted Driver Manager included. Not even in Synaptic (which I prefer & install manually on top of KDE. Yes, I know its Gnome, blah blah blah)
I’ve had the RDM previously, and had no problems with it. But, there’s something not right with this thing. I need to play with it more. Of course, the repo’s are slow as mud, since its just been released and the servers are being hammered, but I cant even find this stuff in synaptic (yes, I’ve edited my sources.list).

I’m not a happy camper right now. I’ll keep you posted

*UPDATE*
Found the restricted driver manager, trying that out to see how it goes. That should be a huge fix for the issues on my box. Its listed as System > Hardware Drivers Manager… PEBKAC, I know…

*UPDATE part II*
OK, everything seems pretty smooth, but the repositories are getting hammered. It’s painfully slow to install anything. Of course, that’s to be expected of a new release. Still Bites, though.

6 Responses to “Kubuntu 8.04 issues, updated”

  1. mysurface said

    It seems fine right? I have my kubuntu remix kde 4 ISO downloaded but not yet install.

  2. anjilslaire said

    Yeah, It seems OK. I think it’ll probably work fine, I just didn’t care for the KDE4 menu. Seems a bit too Vista-ish. But, it *is* KDE, so it’s still pretty cool.

  3. Marc said

    Downloaded Kubuntu 8.04 (first time user) to use on a old laptop no OS. It is asking for a username and password. Anyone know what I should put in the boxes.

    Thanks

  4. anjilslaire said

    Have you installed it? If so, during th installation, it should have prompted you to create a user and password.

    If not, and you’re using the Live CD, then something is being funky, because it *should* just bot right into th desktop. What exactly did you download, and how are you using it?

  5. Marc said

    No I have not installed it as it gets to a box where it asks me for a password and user name.
    I downloaded it from the following site
    http://www.kubuntu.org/download.php#latest

    should I try downloading it again or is there away of getting the password

  6. anjilslaire said

    Your using the KDE 4 Remix, or the regular?
    Try using “kubuntu” as the user and password. No quotes, of course. If that doesn’t work, I’d re-download it and try again.

Leave a Reply

 
