README

Need more useless stuff to read on teh internetz?

Firefox 3 scroll wheel finally fixed!!

Posted by anjilslaire on July 3, 2008

OK, I’m heading out the door on a trip in a few minutes, but I wanted to post the fix to the scroll issues I’ve been experiencing on Firefox 3 in Linux (see previous posts).

Add the following to your mouse settings of /etc/X11/xorg.conf:

Section “InputDevice”
Identifier    “Configured Mouse”
Driver        “mouse”
Option        “CorePointer”
Option        “Device”    “/dev/input/mice”
Option        “Protocol”    “ExplorerPS/2”
Option        “ZAxisMapping”    “4 5”
Option        “ButtonMapping” “1 2 3 4 5”
Option         “Buttons”     “5”

Option        “Emulate3Buttons”    “false”
EndSection

I didn’t have 2 of 3 the lines noted above. This is assuming you have a standard 3-button/scrolling mouse thats cheaply available everywhere. Then reload xorg (ctrl+alt+backspace)

Hope this helps. I’m off to blow stuff up over the holiday 🙂

5 Responses to “Firefox 3 scroll wheel finally fixed!!”

  1. robfish said

    Thanks for this. I had been very frustrated until I found your fix.

  2. anjilslaire said

    No problem. I found this so frustrating, and the only thing I could do was restart X & hope it worked again. This is working flawlessly so far…

  3. README said

    […] care. Xserver will use its own settings as it sees fit, thank you. This of course makes my previously posted mouse config settings […]

  4. […] care. Xserver will use its own settings as it sees fit, thank you. This of course makes my previously posted mouse config settings […]

  5. [..] A bit unrelated, but I totally liked this blog post [..]

Leave a Reply

 
