README

Need more useless stuff to read on teh internetz?

Dell Inspiron Mini 9 – Linux love

Posted by anjilslaire on September 5, 2008

Dell has finally released it. I’m thrilled, and will hopefully be ording it by Christmas. I’ve been looking for a small portable to stay connected, and will be a perfect compliment to Her 1420. In fact, when I order the 1420, I received a $100 gift card from Dell as well, so I can get a loaded netbook with 1gig of ram & a 16gig SSD driver for about $350.

That has me excited, to say the least.

Right now, it comes with a special Dell-modified version of the Ubuntu Netbook Remix. I’m hoping with the next Ubuntu release, 8.10, that there will be a vanilla Ubuntu release for me to load on myself. Having a pre-installed linux seems so unnatural (in a good way I guess)

Either way, this is great news to see such blatant advertising from Dell.

2 Responses to “Dell Inspiron Mini 9 – Linux love”

  1. A.Y. Siu said

    Yeah, the Ubuntu version isn’t tucked away on some obscure part of their website. It’s right in there next to the Windows versions.

  2. anjilslaire said

    Absolutely. Now, if a reinstall method is available, we’d be all set 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
