README

Need more useless stuff to read on teh internetz?

Xubuntu running

Posted by anjilslaire on November 13, 2008

So I got pretty tired of KDE4 pretty quickly, and didn’t really care for the performance hit due to *teh new shiny*. I originally went back to Kubuntu 8.04 with KDE 3.5x for a while, but then my insatiable urge to have the latest & greatest distro overtook me, & I went looking for options.

I settled on running a nice lightweight Xubuntu 8.10, and then diligently installed my favorite KDE apps:
AmaroK
K3B
KAudioCreator
and a few others. After some tweaking, I’ve found a nice system. Moderately lightweight XFCE, with my needed components. I’m hoping to keep this moderately aging system running ilke a champ for a while longer, and hopefully become adjusted to XFCE enough to put it on a Mini 9 later on.

I knew going in that Xubuntu (like Gnome) has a simpler menu system and not as many buttons & checks to mark as I’m accustomed to coming from KDE. The 1st obstacle I ran across was the inadequate system menu interface, which doesn’t *really* let you edit the menu much at all. In my 1st day in Xubuntu, I found the following, which helped immensely, as my previous menu settings from my previous OS installs left duplicate entries littered all over the menu, especially in “Other”, including all of my Wine- apps not in the Wine submenu:

http://xubuntu.wordpress.com
http://xfce.wikia.com

I’ll post more thoughts as I continue down this road, but I’m moderately impressed so far.

One Response to “Xubuntu running”

  1. […] been much fan of gnome, and wanted a pretty lightweight DE to run my KDE apps.  This has all been documented […]

Leave a Reply

 
