README

Need more useless stuff to read on teh internetz?

Firefox scrolling: One more time…

Posted by anjilslaire on December 16, 2008

OK, beating a dead horse, I know.

Out of the blue, my mouse starting acting up again, thinking the “back” button was clicked in Firefox 3 when I scroll up. Did I say “again”?

I was about to pull my hair out, as I live by my trusty scroll wheel. The new xorg.conf in Intrepid doesn’t accept configuration changes. That is to say, you can edit /etc/X11/xorg.conf all you want, and it doesn’t care. Xserver will use its own settings as it sees fit, thank you. This of course makes my previously posted mouse config settings obsolete.

So, after more searching I’ve finally found a bug on Launchpad that describes the situation perfectly, and also includes a working fix. While I certainly don’t take credit for the fix, it has a simple solution:

sudo rmmod psmouse && sudo modprobe psmouse rate=100 proto=imps

And a permanent fix, add the following to /etc/modprobe.d/options:

#Fix mouse for KVM
options psmouse proto=imps

Hopefully this is finally put to rest. Now, the inability to edit xorg.conf is a whole ‘nother pet peeve…

Leave a Reply

 
