README

Need more useless stuff to read on teh internetz?

Mini 9 WPA resolved

Posted by anjilslaire on January 2, 2009

After a couple days of tweaking, I’ve got the WPA issues resolved. Strangely enough, it sort of did it itself. I’ve got Intrepid installed via usb stick, with the 1 line edit for sound, and the Broadcom STA driver for the wireless. After adjusting the network manager settings repeatedly, I finally stumbled upon and installed the svn version of network manager from the maintainers repository, deleted all wireless AP settings from network manager, and changed my router to WPA2 Personal AES from my original WPA Personal TKIP settings.More details here.

Voila, it started working. This being  on a linksys WRT54G device. Since then, I’ve been surfing happily from my couch rather than my desk, acessing my local network shares with ease. Now if I can remember to change the wifi settings on my PSP the next time I find it…

2 Responses to “Mini 9 WPA resolved”

  1. r said

    how did you get your sound working?

  2. 1 line of code to alsa-base:

    sudo gedit /etc/modprobe.d/alsa-base

    then add to the end:
    options snd-hda-intel model=dell

    Reboot, then login, double-click the speaker icon, and turn Speaker volume up

Leave a Reply

 
