README

Need more useless stuff to read on teh internetz?

Garmin Nuvi 205

Posted by anjilslaire on February 6, 2009

I received a GPS for Christmas, and finally got some time to play with it a bit.

The Nuvi 205 is pretty slick. I mounted it to the windshield & plugged it in. No reading of the manuals needed here kids.

After agreeing OK to not play with it while driving, I found it very easy to cnfigure and get me where I want to go. As soon as I got home from my 1st trip, I plugged it into my  PC to see about getting it updated.

The good  news ius that Ubuntu recognizes thdevice as a storage drive, so I can add extra voices, cars, etc by simply unzipping them into the appropriate folders.

Wine even allows the installation of the Garmin software updater.

The bad news is that the Garmin software updater does not recognize the device when plugged into Linux, even under Wine 1.1.14 😦

So, I had to plug it into a WIndows box to update the OS and install the 2009 map update, which I got free in my 60 days of free updates.
The map update was 1.2gigs. Sheesh.

Aside from that snafu, I’m now cruising down the road being tracked by “Judy,” the British voice guiding my onscreen Black Pearl.

8 Responses to “Garmin Nuvi 205”

  1. MaxRabbit said

    Have you tried comparing it with Google Maps? I have an older Garmin, and noticed that Google Maps gives me way faster routes. I don’t know if the weird routes have been fixed in the newer versions of the Garmins?

    Even on mainstream routes to Pittsburgh (which I live about 2 hours away from), the Garmin has a funky route of jumping onto several different highways, when all I need to do is get on 79 and go south for an hour!

  2. Weird. It’s *usually* pretty accurate. Granted, after I got it I connected it and updated th software & downloaded the latest map pack for it (+1gig!) and installed. Garmin seems to give you 6 months of free map updates. Have you ever updated yours?

    I’ll try comparing with Google Maps sometime to see. Thanks for the tip!

  3. 60 days, that is

  4. MaxRabbit said

    I did one map update, but as I said, that was quite a while ago since it’s a pretty old GPS 🙂

  5. John said

    I agree with updating your maps, that will probably give you better results.

  6. GarminGPS said

    If you are looking your new GPS navigator Store. I recommend you to find your new Garmin GPS Store at our website store. Anyway, you may find product spec., echnical review, accessories and maps update for Garmin 780,765T,755T,255W,360,205W,250,260,260W,265WT,270,760 and others Garmin nuvi information at http://garmingps.geogats.com/garmin-store/

  7. If you are an owner of Garmin Nuvi Then don’t fear of being lost in a city.

  8. The $189 nüvi 205 is a reliable model to have on hand. However, we were expecting a bit more out of Garmin, even if this is a budget device. If you’re looking for the best value, the Navigon 2000S is the smarter buy.

Leave a Reply

 
