README

Need more useless stuff to read on teh internetz?

Netbook Remix to KDE and back again

Posted by anjilslaire on February 6, 2009

Alright. So I went ahead & installed KDE on my Mini 9. Rather than do a
sudo apt-get install kubuntu-desktop

and have a messy hidden structure in /home if I decide to rip it all out again, I opted to backup /home, and do a clean install of Kubuntu 8.10 on the 32gig SSD. Almost immediately, I decided I didn’t care for it. The GUI just seemed so LARGE on the precious 1200×600 display.

Yes, I could tweak everything until it was nice and accommodating, but the purpose of my netbook is to have hassle-free easy-on-the-eyes mobile computing, and that’s what the Gnome-based Netbook Remix manages very well. As a result, I must admit I didn’t spend much time in KDE this time around, and I promptly formatted & reinstalled Ubuntu 8.10 and the Netbook Remix.

I’ve heard rumblings though, that the KDE folks are developing a KDE Netbook Remix. Now that is something I”m eagerly waiting to try out.

Leave a Reply

 
