README

Need more useless stuff to read on teh internetz?

Kubuntu 9.04 Beta working on Mini 9

Posted by anjilslaire on April 1, 2009

So after grabbing the latest Jaunty Beta of Kubuntu, I loaded it onto my usb flash and booted my mini 9. To my pleasure and slight surprise, both the login screen & desktop were perfectly scaled to the 1024×600 resolution. Did I say perfectly? Yes I did.

Playing with it more, I found the built-in desktop effects of Plasma working well, too. The Cube & wobbly windows performed with no lag, and the system was snappy, even via a flash drive.

The one thing that didn’t fly was the wireless connecting to my WPA2/AES-enabled router. The KNetwork Manager didn’t even have an option for WPA2, just WEP & WPA, basically. No love.

If the final release in a few weeks  corrects this and improves a few other things, I may just bump the 8.10 Netbook Remix to the curb and return the the KDE fold, despite my loathing of KDE4.0 & 4.1.

Jaunty with 4.2 seems very nice.

One Response to “Kubuntu 9.04 Beta working on Mini 9”

  1. livingmobily said

    Wow, you’re gettin’ me all jazzed about my netbook. I love tweakin’ with Linux distros. Unfortunately, the stupid post office sent my package to the wrong part of the county! So now there’s a delay. I was hoping to get it today so I would have it for my Vegas trip, but looks like i’ll just have to wait.

Leave a Reply

 
