README

Need more useless stuff to read on teh internetz?

Sword of Fargoal: Xbox Live, please

Posted by anjilslaire on April 24, 2010

I’ve been a fan of Fargoal for 20+ years on the c64. It was always a primary reason for me to keep an emulator handy, to play for a few minutes (Yay for save states!). Then I discovered Fargoal.com and until last year (I think) they had ported it to PC & MAC with the source code included so it ran with slightly updated graphics on Windows, Linux, and Mac. I can’t really describe my enthusiasm, actually.

They provided the files free, and had a PayPal donation button to help fund further developments. I could play it anywhere: On my desktop, on my netbook natively in linux, emulated on my PSP in its original c64 release. Joy, Joy!

Nowadays, it’s apparently a hit on the iPhone, with much improved graphics. I think that’s awesome. Really.

But Jeff, please continue to provide at least the old port for the PC, and  even more importantly, release the new version onto Xbox Live. I’d happily pay 800 MS Points to fire it up on the 360. Hey, Lode Runner is available. Please let us enjoy what was one of the best games ever on the commodore get  some much-deserved multiplatform love.

Either way, I think everyone with an iPhone should roll over and check it out.

Oh, and Android would be cool, too 😉

One Response to “Sword of Fargoal: Xbox Live, please”

  1. Hey anjilslaire, you can still get the 2003 Fargoal remake here: http://sourceforge.net/projects/squidfighter/files/ … I dunno why it’s not linked on the main page, I’ll see about getting it back up. No reason it shouldn’t be there.

Leave a Reply

 
