README

Need more useless stuff to read on teh internetz?

Ubuntu Netbook Lucid -restore Volume

Posted by anjilslaire on May 15, 2010

Just a quick note/self-reminder.

So I don’t use Evolution. Webmail is more my thing. After installing the 10.4 release of Ubuntu Netbook Edition on the Mini 9, I remove Evolution to save a bit of space on the SSD.

However, this removed the volume Control icon on the top panel. I also discovered that in 10.4 UNE, the panel is locked, and you cannot add new icons easily.

Never fear. After 2 days of looking, I have the answer: Open your terminal & do as follows:

sudo apt-get install indicator-sound

Log out & back in. Done. Thank me later.

One Response to “Ubuntu Netbook Lucid -restore Volume”

  1. Aya said

    I could hear noise when recording or making audio conversation. I removed pulseaudio, and the sound indicator was gone. I still have no idea about the noise, but I know that the sound indicator is back again. Your search is successful; it works like a charm! Thanks!

Leave a Reply

 
